Welcome to Clifden Boat Club's Website 2012
home | news | calendar | training | regatta | our club | clubhouse | constitution | contact | membership | weather | links
Traditional Boats Regatta 2012

Clifden Regatta 2012

Clifden Boat Club

For details

Click Here

Archived Regatta Pages

2011 WIORA
2010 Clifden Regatta
2009 Clifden Regatta
2007 WIORA
2006 Clifden Regatta
2005 Clifden Regatta


This is now an archived page ... please click here to go to the latest version

A Traditional Boats Regatta organised by the Clifden2012 committee
as part of Clifden's 200th Birthday Celebrations on Sunday 27th May.

Both of these photos courtesy of Kenneth Whelan

The Traditional Boats Regatta was a great success on Sunday with both Galway Hookers and Currachs racing.
There were 14 Galway Hookers of varying sizes and classes including two from Inishbofin, one from Letterfrack and one from Clifden.
There were approx 60 participants in the Currach racing, some traveling from as far as Donegal and Kerry, the whole west coast was well represented.

There is a nice selection of photos, courtesy of Kenneth Whelan, on the Clifden 2012 facebook page which can be found by clicking this link facebook.com/clifden2012 or the next one to go straight to the photo album Kenneth Whelan's Photos.

This photo courtesy of Noel Mannion, "What's On" magazine ... facebook.com/connemara.whatson

Galway Hookers that attended are listed below in their respective classes

Bad Mor
Tonai - The O'Brien Family
Truelight - Padraic O'Cualain, Fergus O'Cualain, Mairtin Bairead, Emer Joyce, Skippered by Josie Sheain Jeaic McDonagh
Macdara - John Beag O'Flaharta
Naomh Cailin - Steven Wallace

Leath Bhaid
Norah - Sean McDonnacha
Colmcille - Frank Cooke, Skippered by Matt Casey

Gleoiteog Mor
St. Katherine - Padraic Barrett
Anna Jude - Jimmy Keady

Gleoiteog Beag
Nora Bheag - Coilin Hernon
Brigid - Paddy Pryce
McHugh - Mairtin Keane, Skippered by Ciaran Josie McDonagh
Star of the Sea - Mairtin Cloonan
No Name, from Letterfrack - Ulick Joyce, Sailed by Martin Joyce and Noel Connolly.

St. Colman - Paddy Joe King

Committee Boat was the "Sea Sprinter" skippered by Cian O'Brien
Association RIB "Naomh Brendan" skippered by Cuimin Kelly

Class Winners
Bad Mor - Tonai - The O'Brien Family
Leath Bhaid - Norah - Sean McDonnacha
Gleoiteog Mor - St. Katherine - Padraic Barrett
Gleoiteog Beag/Pucan - Nora Bheag - Coilin Hernon

Overall Winner of the "John Darcy Memorial Trophy" sponsored by Emer Joyce
(the best performing boat)
Bad Mor - Tonai - The O'Brien Family

Press and related articles
Here is an extract from the Connaught Tribune 31st May about Clifden 2012 and the Traditional Boats Regatta.
Here is a link to RTE's Player for the "Nationwide" programme broadcast 30th May. Only available until 20th June.

More info coming soon
Awaiting info on the Currach Racing participants and winners.